- Some of our Muslim patients have been keen to know if the new, very popular DNA Polynucleotides treatments are compatible with their faith.
- This question is of relevance given that the source material for Polynucleotide gels is fish (usually Salmon).
- They do NOT contain any material sourced from shellfish.
- We approached CROMA, the Austrian manufacturer of the excellent PhilArt range of Polynucleotide gels, for an official answer.
The reply we received is summarised below:
Dear Dr. Booshan,
Thanks for your email!
Regarding your question below about PhilArt range, as you know, PhilArt is a polynucleotide gel. Polynucleotides are highly purified natural substances derived from Fish. Essentially all types of seafood (fish included) are Halal..
Hope that answer is helpful to you!
Mohammed Hassan Shehata, BPharm, MBA
Team Lead Global Product Management
Croma Pharma GmbH
Reviewing the topic of medicines which are halal, we note that they must fulfill the requirements as below :
- Does not contain substances from animals that are not halal or not slaughtered according to Islamic law.
- Does not contain substances which are considered najis by Islamic law.
- Safe to be used, non-toxic, would not cause damage or intoxication and not harmful to health.
- Not prepared, processed or manufactured using equipment contaminated with najis according to Islamic law.
- Does not contain human body parts or products which are not allowed by Islamic law.
Halal And Haram Medicines (Islamic Perspective)
Accessed Nov 2023
CONCLUSION / RECOMMENDATION: By all counts above, the new injectables such as PhilArt are halal and will be suitable for all patients except Vegans.
Read more about DNA Polynucleotide treatments and FAQ here
baby botox wolverhampton telford shrewsbury walsall dudley